EuHEA Seminar Series Fall 2021

The EuHEA seminar series brings together health economists all across its member associations, and beyond, to discuss cutting-edge research


The EuHEA Seminar Series aims to foster exchange between health economists across different countries and institutions and present cutting-edge research in all areas of health economics. A Scientific Committee chaired by Rossella Verzulli (University of Bologna) will coordinate the series for the academic year 2021/2022.

Please note that the time slot for the EuHEA Seminar Series in fall will change to Wednesdays, 2:30-3:30pm (CET), program details and a link for registration will follow here.



29 September 2021, 14:30-15:30 (CET)

Registration is free, using this link. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Dynamic Impacts of Lockdown Mandates on Intimate Partner Violence: Evidence from Multiple Policy Shifts in Chile

There has been a global surge in domestic violence (DV) during the pandemic. We identify impacts of lockdown imposition and lockdown removal on measures of incidence and reporting using Chilean administrative data. Chile provides a good laboratory for this analysis because lockdown was staggered across its 346 municipalities. We defend the identifying assumption that the timing of lockdown is quasi-random and obtain estimates of dynamic effects that are unbiased under treatment effect heterogeneity. We find an increase in incidence alongside a decrease in reports to the police. Investigating mechanisms, we find evidence consistent with mobility restrictions and job loss being exacerbated by lockdown and contributing to the increase in DV.  We estimate that formal job loss may explain around 10 percent of the sharp rise in DV distress calls.  We observe ratchet effects, with the lifting of lockdown only partially reversing the spike in distress calls and employment. Our findings accentuate the controversy around welfare impacts of lockdown imposition.

Speaker: Damian Clarke, University of Chile
Discussant: Pinar Keskin, Wellesley College
Chair: Rossella Verzulli, University of Bologna

6 October 2021, 14:30-15:30 (CET)

The Medium-Term Impact of Prenatal Exposure to Air Pollution

Speaker: Chiara Serra, Bocconi Univeristy
Discussant: Katharina Janke, Lancaster University
Chair: Daniela Iorio, University of Bologna

13 October 2021, 14:30-15:30 (CET)

A new online tool for valuing health states: eliciting personal utility functions for the EQ-5D-5L

Speaker: Paul Schneider, University of Sheffield
Discussant: Monica Duarte Oliveira, Universidade De Lisboa
Chair: Dorte Gyrd-Hansen, University of Southern Denmark

20 October 2021, 14:30-15:30 (CET)

Physician altruism: The effect of medical education

Speaker: Mona GroƟ, University of Cologne
Discussant: Jing Li, Cornell University
Chair: Francesca Barigozzi, University of Bologna

27 October 2021, 14:30-15:30 (CET)

Depowering Risk: Vehicle Power Restriction and Teen Driver Accidents in Italy

Speaker: Silvia Balia, University of Cagliari
Discussant: Thomas Siedler, University of Potsdam
Chair: Matteo Lippi Bruni, University of Bologna

Scientific Committee

The EuHEA Seminar Series in the academic year 2021/2022 is coordinated by:

  • Rossella Verzulli, University of Bologna (Chair)
  • Pedro Pita Barros, Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Co-Chair)
  • Francesca Barigozzi, University of Bologna
  • Stefan Boes, University of Lucerne
  • Davide Dragone, University of Bologna
  • Geir Godager, University of Oslo
  • Dorte Gyrd-Hansen, University of Southern Denmark
  • Daniela Iorio, University of Bologna
  • Tor Iversen, University of Oslo
  • Oddvar Kaarboe, University of Bergen
  • Sverre Kittelsen, Frisch Centre
  • Matteo Lippi Bruni, University of Bologna
  • Paolo Pertile, University of Verona
  • Liza Sopina, University of Southern Denmark